Becoming One

Back in July, I wrote a piece about why I hike. Over the past few days, I felt the need to go back and read it again. Looking over what I wrote 3 or 4 months ago helped to remind me why I enjoy being in the outdoors so much.

A few days ago, I came across a short entry by a fellow who both canoe trips and backpacks. In his experience backcountry canoeing, you see the forest from the water – which seems pretty obvious. When needing to portage between lakes, your focus is on getting your gear along the trail from one lake to the next and not necessarily being in-tuned to the forest around you.

What I found personally refreshing in the article however is, this person’s experience lead them to discover when you’re on a backpacking trip, you don’t just see the forest; you become part of it; which leads to a completely different experience.

He found you see the smallest plants; notice where the sun finds its way through the trees and produces different lighting effects. Once acclimated to the trail, sounds and smells stand out more.

That’s one of the reason’s why I get drawn to the trail. When you “become part of it” the experience is completely different.

It’s like that old saying,”sometimes you just can’t see the forest for the trees.”

 

img_20161019_121409970

 

 

 

 

_DSC0195-Edit-Edit

_DSC1040-Edit

 

I encourage you to get out there and allow yourself to become one with the forest. Your experience will be totally different and worth it.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Becoming One

Leave a Reply

