The Why – It’s Never Too Late

“Everybody needs beauty as well as bread, places to play in and pray in, where nature may heal and give strength to body and soul.” – John Muir

You know, it’s never too late. March 2015 was our “it’s never too late” date.

Thinking back, during those 25 years prior to our “never too late” date, we where different; we had changed somewhat. We weren’t the canoe tripping, camping outdoorsy type of people we used to be. Living, work, raising a family caused us to miss it.

I think that happens way more often than we think or acknowledge. I see so many people who are just living. It’s like they’re living a life of “quiet desperation.”

That was me “a life of quiet desperation.”

Both Lynn and I acknowledge that working, raising a family, other commitments, our siblings – just living; all of that together in whatever form that looks like, is:

  • 24/7
  • 52 weeks a year
  • for as many years as it takes

The reality is Lynn and I can only look at oursleves. We can’t judge someone else; we’re not walking in their shoes. BUT for us – I/we missed it.

Missed what? We missed, or forgot to engage ourselves; to go back to what ignited an excitement within us. One of my favourite quotes is, “I don’t want to wake up dead one morning.” Not sure if someone famous said it, but for now I’m claiming it as mine.

“I don’t want to wake up dead one morning.” That’s my fear. Waking up one day and realizing that your life; all those years have slipped by, and you never got back to following your passion and dreams. The thing(s) that made you feel alive inside. I don’t want that day to come, where I can’t do those things.

Oh, you said you would, “when work slowed down” or “when the kids where gone”

To this point in my life, I haven’t woken up dead. But, I do think there is only so many times one can “put a bullet in a gun, spin the chamber and pull the trigger” before waking up dead isn’t an option.

So, March 2015 – what’s so special about that date. It marked our 25th anniversary. Well, actually it marked our 25 anniversary trip. Our actual 25th would have been a few months later in September.

Twenty-five years being the milestone that it is, we decided to head to Banff, Alberta. I think we were divinley lead there as we had looked at the obvious options of a cruise, Florida, New York to name a few.

So, if you are going to have “a never too late moment or place” the Canadian Rockies are the place to have it. As soon as I saw the Rockies from the plane while landing in Calgary, I knew I was home. This was the place I was supposed to be.

Driving along the Trans-Canada from Calgary to Banff and watching the mountains get ever closer, we both had our mouths open with awe at the spectacle that was unfolding before us.

We did a lot in Banff. Hiking, walking to snowshoeing in the high mountains. This woke up a passion, a desire in me, that has been in foremost in my mind each and everyday since. To get out there in the great outdoors. Put some effort into seeing what God has created. To find something that puts fuel into your tank. Find that someone to join you along the journey

DSC_1820-Edit-Edit.jpg

We discovered tons of magical places out west. This is mine. The Kicking Horse River as it flows through the “Natural Bridge” in Yoho National Park.

We hope you have a “it’s never to late date”.

2 thoughts on “The Why – It’s Never Too Late

  1. heatherwharram

    Beautiful. It’s awesome you are back outdoors exploring. It took me a while but I found my passion for hiking and am hoping to sustain what you call photohiking for as long as I’m around this world. Nothing better than exploring!

    Like

    1. Thanks for the wonderful comment. We’re kind of lucky, that my wife who’s the photography loves to hike and explore as much as I do. She has a great ability to capture the essence of our adventures, not necessarily the “summits.” We find that our bucket list keeps getting longer and longer. Need bigger bucket I guess! I love reading blogs like yours. Gives such great inspiration. Keep it up. Thanks for the work you put into your blog. Great stuff

      Like

Leave a Reply

